Tuesday, 26 January 2016

The Structures Of Series

Frank Herbert's six Dune novels are not two trilogies but a trilogy, a sequel and an unfinished second trilogy.

SM Stirling's four Draka novels are not a tetralogy but a trilogy and a sequel.

Stirling's New Virginia history is in one novel.
His Angrezi Raj history is in one novel and one story.
His Lords of Creation history is in two novels and one story.
His Domination history is in four novels and one anthology.
His other series I have yet to read.

Stirling explains the rationale of the Domination well in the Introduction to SM Stirling, Ed., Drakas (Riverdale, NY, 2000). I am not big on themed anthologies but will see how I manage with Drakas. Poul Anderson was a major contributor to themed anthologies and, of course, I appreciate, e.g., his Man-Kzin Wars stories and his Robot story as parts of his complete works.

Look at that Draka's face!

1 comment:

Sean M. Brooks said...

Kaor, Paul!

Except for being tedious about lesbianism in too many of his non Draka books, I greatly enjoy reading the works of S.M. Stirling. In many ways, he reminds me of Poul Anderson. Ands I have to admit Stirling has surpassed PA in writing alternate world stories.

As for the Draka pictured on the cover of DRAKAS!, words like serious, grim, relentless comes to mind.

May the Domination be OVERTHROWN! Sean