Monday, 26 September 2016

The Time Patrol Collection

The complete collection of Poul Anderson's Time Patrol series, excluding only the long novel The Shield Of Time, has grown from four to five to seven to nine to ten stories and has had a different title each time although there are two basic titles:

The Guardians of Time title gained a definite article, becoming The Guardians of Time;

Annals Of The Time Patrol lost Annals Of, then The;

The Shield Of Time listed a forthcoming Tales of the Time Patrol but this lost Tales of before publication.

The Guardians of Time is Guardians of Time plus "Gibraltar Falls" and an Afterword by Sandra Miesel;
Annals... amalgamated The Guardians of Time (minus the Afterword?) and Time Patrolman;
The Time Patrol incorporated Year of the Ransom and the new "Star of the Sea";
Time Patrol incorporated "Death and the Knight," which, however, is a sequel to The Shield Of Time and therefore should be collected at the end of that volume.

1 comment:

Sean M. Brooks said...

Kaor, Paul!

I remember very well your detailed commentaries on the Time Patrol stories. And how you convinced me that "deleted" timelines were not snuffed out, became utterly nonexistent, rather they became inaccessible to the Patrol and other time travelers from the "original" time line. And you seemed to have convinced Poul Anderson of this--so much so he planned to your suggestions if he had written any more Patrol stories.