Saturday, 20 August 2016

Omnibus Collections

"Operation Afreet," "Operation Salamander," "Operation Incubus" and "Operation Changeling" were collected as Operation Chaos;

Operation Chaos and Operation Luna were collected as Operation Otherworld;

Three Hearts And Three Lions, Operation Otherworld, A Midsummer Tempest, "House Rule" and "Losers' Night" could appropriately be collected although without an "Operation..." title;

if that were to be done, then Master Merchant Nicholas van Rijn would figure in four omnibus collections because he cameos in "House Rule" and is also a major player in the first three of the seven volumes of The Technic Civilization Saga.

The Technic Civilization History is a hard sf future history linear series whereas the works that would be collected in the proposed additional volume are fantasies set in three alternative histories and in one inter-universal venue.

It is to be hoped that such volumes will be published as part of a Complete Works of Poul Anderson.

1 comment:

Sean M. Brooks said...

Kaor, Paul!

I've asked PA's son-in-law Greg Bear if there were any plans to compile a COMPLETE COLLECTED WORKS OF POUL ANDERSON. Alas, he replied there were no plans for such a thing. Still, that was several years ago and we can hope such a thing will be organized.

After all, the works of Robert A. Heinlein and Jack Vance were collected and republished that!