Tuesday, 16 June 2015

Texts And Contexts II

Poul Anderson's Gunnar Heim stories:

"Marque and Reprisal,"
"Arsenal Port" and

can be read either collected as The Star Fox, in which case they have a sequel, the novel Fire Time, or scattered among NESFA's The Collected Short Works Of Poul Anderson, in which case each story is in a different volume and Fire Time is not mentioned since it is not a short work.

Some fans might even prefer the latter reading experience, unexpectedly re-encountering Gunnar Heim after reading a considerable number of different kinds of works in between. Several other series, e.g.:

Time Patrol;
Wing Alak;
Flying Mountains;
the Rustum History -

- are also to be found in whole or in part among The Collected Short Works... My preference would be for each of the series to be collected as a unit and for any additional Short Works volumes to contain only non-series stories. However, the NESFA collections prompted me to reread, and also to re-post about, what I call the Star...Time series. While hoping for an eventual Complete Works of Poul Anderson, we can meanwhile derive considerable enjoyment from reading the many overlapping volumes that have been published so far.

1 comment:

Sean M. Brooks said...

Kaor, Paul!

I agree with you both about hoping for a COMPLETE COLLECTED WORKS OF POUL ANDERSON collecting series stories and novels into their own volums and still being able to enjoy reading the NESFA Press volumes.

Also, I love the jacket paintings commissioned by NESFA. I esp. admire the cover painting for CALL ME JOE. Just for once, some of Poul Anderson's books are getting the kind of respectful cover art they deserve!