Monday, 21 April 2014

The History Of Dominic Flandry

Dominic Flandry appears in four volumes of Baen Books' The Technic Civilization Saga:

Young Flandry (collecting 3 novels);
Captain Flandry: Defender Of The Terran Empire (6 works);
Sir Dominic Flandry: The Last Knight Of Terra (4 works);
Flandry's Legacy (6 works).

Although Flandry's Legacy includes all four works set after Flandry's lifetime, it begins with the last two novels set during his lifetime.

I would present this section of the History as follows:

Young Flandry And The Terran Empire (3 novels);
Outposts Of The Terran Empire (2 works);
Captain Flandry Of The Terran Empire (7 works);
Children Of The Terran Empire (3 novels);
After The Terran Empire or The Post-Imperial Age (4 works).

The seven works in the proposed Captain Flandry Of... are the original Flandry series to which Poul Anderson added prequels and sequels. Children Of... would be an appropriate title because all three of these novels introduce offspring of characters from the first Flandry novel. In fact, "The Warriors From Nowhere" features a granddaughter of the Terran Emperor and is, retroactively, a prequel to the first Children... novel so this story could be moved from the end of one collection to the beginning of the next.

No comments: